Student Activities at Great River School

We offer a range of extracurricular activities to further our mission of helping students develop into engaged learners and motivated critical thinkers. 

 
 
athena.jpg

Robotics
Advisor: Michael Flood
mFlood@greatriverschool.org

Do you like creating things? Working together to solve problems? Showing off your team's work? Then you'll love robotics! There are three robotics teams to choose from, meeting weekly September through December. 

  • Lego (FLL) robotics for 5-8th graders. Small robots. 
  • FTC robotics for 8th and 9th graders. Medium robots. 
  • FRC (No Mythic) robotics for 10th-12th graders. 
    Huge robots.
 
IMG_6005.JPG

Gender Sexuality Alliance (GSA)
Advisor: Charlie Zieke
czieke@greatriverschool.org

Gender and Sexuality Alliance is a group of students who identify as LGBTQ+, as well as folks who stand in solidarity. We meet weekly to offer resources, raise funds for local organizations, and create a welcoming, safe(r) space at GRS. GSA is student-led by a collective cohort of active adolescent leaders. 

In the 2017-2018 school year, GSA members raised funds for local LGBT youth shelters, attended a statewide queer youth conference, and were frequent attenders at All-Ages Drag Brunch. 

 
blue heron.png

Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC) Student Group
Advisor: Jenny Kordosky
jkordosky@greatriverschool.org

Great River hosts space for multiple groups for BIPOC students. These are student initiated, led, and self-determining. BIPOC staff is available to offer supervision as needed and any BIPOC student can chose if and how they'd like to participate. 

 
IMG_2134.JPG

Music Performance: Coffee House
Advisor: Zack Scott
zscott@greatriverschool.org

Students of all talents and musical abilities have the chance to make sweet sounds at GRS. Our twice-annual Coffee House, an open mic tradition, offers students a stage for sharing their jams with the world. 

 
_IMG_3183.JPG

Theater, Choir, and School Musicals
Advisor: Caroline Miesle
cmiesle@greatriverschool.org

Theatrically-inclined GRS students have multiple opportunities to show their stuff on stage, from our annual spring musical to one-act performances. 

 
Yearbook Team.jpg

Yearbook
Advisor: Stacey Kreger
skreger@greatriverschool.org

Yearbook Club meets weekly throughout the school year to create an archive of the year's memories.  

 
attheun.jpg

Montessori Model United Nations (MMUN)
Advisor: Jean Peters
jpeters@greatriverschool.org

Upper Elementary students have the opportunity to participate in the annual MMUN summit in New York City.