Student Activities at Great River School

We offer a range of extracurricular activities to further our mission of helping students develop into engaged learners and motivated critical thinkers. 

To propose a new student club, fill out this form!

Untitled design (2).png

Black, Indigenous, People Of Color (BIPOC) Student Group

Advisor: Jenny Kordosky
jkordosky@greatriverschool.org

Great River hosts space for multiple groups for BIPOC students. These are student initiated, led, and self-determining. BIPOC staff is available to offer supervision as needed and any BIPOC student can choose if and how they'd like to participate. 

IMG_6005.JPG

Gender & Sexuality Alliance
 

Advisor: Charlie Zieke
czieke@greatriverschool.org

Gender and Sexuality Alliance is a group of students who identify as LGBTQ+, as well as folks who stand in solidarity. We meet weekly to offer resources, raise funds for local organizations, and create a welcoming, safe(r) space at GRS. GSA is student-led by a collective cohort of active adolescent leaders. 


athena.jpg

Robotics
 

Advisor: Michael Flood
mflood@greatriverschool.org

 

There are three robotics teams to choose from, meeting weekly:

  • Lego (FLL) robotics for 5-8th graders. Small robots.

  • FTC robotics for 8th and 9th graders. Medium robots.

  • FRC (No Mythic) robotics for 10th-12th graders.
    Huge robots.

_IMG_3183.JPG

Music Performance: Coffee House, Theater, & Choir

Advisor: Zack Scott & Caroline Miesle
zscott@greatriverschool.org
cmiesle@greatriverschool.org

Students of all talents and musical abilities have the chance to make sweet sounds at GRS. Our twice-annual Coffee House, an open mic tradition, offers students a stage for sharing their jams with the world. Theatrically-inclined GRS students have multiple opportunities to show their stuff on stage, from our annual spring musical to one-act performances. 


Yearbook Team.jpg

Yearbook Club
 

Advisor: Stacey Kreger
skreger@greatriverschool.org

Yearbook Club meets weekly throughout the school year to create an archive of the year's memories.  

 

attheun.jpg

Montessori Model United Nations (MMUN)

Advisor: Jean Peters
jpeters@greatriverschool.org

Upper Elementary students have the opportunity to participate in the annual MMUN summit in New York City.